ABSW awards

Latest News

Winners of the 2019 awards announced Tuesday 28 May, 2019) at the Science Museum, London

Finalists in the 2019 awards announced Friday 3 May 2019 


In 2019 the following awards were open for entry (prize money is given in brackets)

New in 2019

Editor of the year (£1,000)

Local or regional journalist of the year (£1,000)

Innovation of the year (£1,000)

Feature of the year - general (£1,000)

Feature of the year - specialist (£1,000)

Continuing in 2019

News item of the year (£1,000) - NB: this award is open to broadcast as well as print journalists

Scripted/edited television programme or online video (£1,000)

The Royal Society Radio Prize (£1,000) (NB: A prize for the best scripted/edited radio programme or podcast)

The Steve Connor award for investigative journalism (£1,000) This award is made in memory of Steve Connor, award winning journalist and science editor of the The Independent, who sadly died in 2017. "He made the complex accessible and commanded the attention of the news desk with his nose for scoops - showing diligence in achieving them," said Jeremy Laurance writing in The Independent.

The NUJ Stephen White Award for communication and reporting of science in a non science context (£600). This award is made in memory of Stephen White, a highly influential science communicator who sadly died in 2010. The award is possible due to a donation from Stephen’s widow Elizabeth.

The Dr Katharine Giles science blog award (£600). This award is supported by the Dr Katharine Giles Fund. 

Newcomer of the year (£500) 

Student science journalist of the year (£500). Scientists winning this award will be offered a one day media skills training course run by the Royal Society and funded by the Dr Katharine Giles Fund.

British science journalist of the year. The winner of this award will be the British entrant for the European science journalist of the year award.

Science under the microscope award (£1000).  The recipient of this award is chosen by the judges from all shortlisted entries and is made to the entry that provides the most insight into the process and personalities of science.   


European Science Journalist of the Year (£1000). This award is made through nominations from European Journalism Associations and/or by individual entry from Europe-based journalists. This Award remains open for entry until midnight on Wednesday 27 February 2019.

Lifetime achievement awards are granted in some years by the ABSW Executive Board. There is no cash prize associated with this award.  This award is not open to individual entry but is through nominations made by the ABSW membership. Deadline for sending nominations midnight on Wednesday 27 February 2019.  

2019 Key Dates

All entries must have been first published or broadcast between 1 January 2018 and 31 December 2018 inclusive. 

Open to entries: Midnight 31 December 2018

Close to entries:  Midnight 31 January 2019  

Shortlist announced: Mid to late April 2019

ABSW awards ceremony (winners announced): May 2018, London details tbc

About the Awards

The ABSW’s science writers' awards ran continuously from 1966 to 2007, with the support of a variety of sponsors. Over these years the awards became the "Oscars" of science writing, and served as a model for similar schemes all over the world. With support from Johnson & Johnson Innovation the ABSW re-established the awards in 2010 and through their continued support the Awards are now secure into the future. The Royal Society, IOP publishing and the Institute of Physics, Good Thinking, NUJ/Stephen White Bequest, the Dr Katharine Giles Fund and Richard Gregory have also supported the Awards enabling additional categories and prize money. 

The ABSW’s awards aim to reward excellence in science, technology, engineering and mathematics journalism and writing and are judged by a panel of credible and respected judges.

The ABSW Awards 2018 in pictures

Seema Kumar, Vice President, Enterprise Innovation and Global Health Communication, Johnson & Johnson, explains why Johnson & Johnson Innovation sponsor good science writing.


All queries regarding the awards should be directed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



EurekAlert! is the ABSW's lead professional development partner and supports all ABSW professional development and training events.