ABSW awards

The 2019 awards are now closed to entry

European Science Journalist of the Year is open for entry until midnight February 27, 2019

In 2019 the Awards opened for entry at midnight on 31 December 2018 and closed to entry at midnight on 31 January 2019.

Entry is free for ABSW/ISTJA members, non members pay £45 per entry. You can join the ABSW in order to enter the Awards for free. You DO NOT have to wait for your membership to be processed in order to enter, just complete the entry form and tick the box that says you have applied for ABSW membership. (See here for a list of other benefits of joining the ABSW).

Please ensure you have read the entry guidelines before completing the entry form for the 2019 awards. You will need to complete a new entry form for each category entered.

European science journalist of the year (for non-British entrants)

If you are a European journalism association wishing to make a nomination for European Science Journalist of the Year 2019, or if you are an individual Europe-based science journalist wishing to enter for this award, please find the details and links to the nomination form on our European science journalist of the year pages.

Any queries regarding the awards should be directed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



EurekAlert! is the ABSW's lead professional development partner and supports all ABSW professional development and training events.