ABSW awards


Latest News

European science journalist of the year closed to entry at midnight 27 February 2019.

New rules 2019: Broadcast journalists can now enter. Individuals from any European country can now enter themselves. (You need to be an ABSW/ISTJA member to enter the Awards individually, or pay an equivalent entry fee of £45 per entry.)

NB: British science journalist of the year (also British entrant to European science journalist of the year), please see the guidelines for entry to all ABSW awards and the entry form for all awards including this category.

The Award

The ABSW is co-ordinating an award for ‘European science journalist of the year’ for the fifth year. The award is intended to celebrate the work of a journalist who promotes excellence and creativity in science, engineering, technology and mathematics (STEM) journalism. They will be recognised for entertaining and informing audiences, for inspiring new generations of journalists and writers, and for innovation in their main area of expertise.

The award is open to journalists working in print, online, broadcast or multimedia but not books.  If work is not originally published in English, an English translation of the work should be submitted alongside the original language article (translation of script if broadcast). If costs of translation prohibit entry then the ABSW has a discretionary fund to assist with translation and requests for funds can be made via the application form.

Entry is now open to individual journalists throughout Europe as well as to European journalism or writing associations who can also put forward nominations for the Award. It is entirely up to each association to determine the most appropriate way to select their nominees. The ABSW decides on the British nominee by allowing entry by individual science journalists, with ABSW’s Executive Board selecting the winner to be put forward as the British entrant to the European Award, this journalist is then considered the 'British science journalist of the year'.

Nominees from national associations alongside any individual entries will be judged by a specially appointed European judging panel.

The winner of the European Science Journalist of the Year award will receive a cash prize of £1,000.

This initiative has been made possible by support from Johnson & Johnson Innovation.

European Journalism Association Nominations 

The method by which Associations choose nominees is entirely down to that Association. When you have decided on your one nominee then please make your entry via the online entry form, one entry per association. You may also want to look at this form in order to ensure you gain appropriate information about potential nominees during your selection process. A key requirement is that supporting work should have been published/first broadcast in the entry year which runs 1 January 2018 – 31 December 2018 and that the nominated journalist must have been working in the country of the nominating national European association during the relevant competition year, 1 January 2018 – 31 December 2018. You must also seek permission from the relevant journalist before making the nomination. The deadline for making your nomination is Wednesday 27 February (midnight) 2019.  

***Online entry form for European Journalism Association Nominations***

Individual Entry

Please make your entry using the online individual entry form for this award, you will be allowed to submit three pieces of work to support your entry along with a supporting statement. A key requirement is that supporting work should have been published/first broadcast in the entry year which runs 1 January 2018 – 31 December 2018. You need to be an ABSW member to enter the Awards individually, or pay an equivalent entry fee of £45 per entry. 

The deadline for making your entry is Wednesday 27 February (midnight) 2019.

***Online entry form for individual entry***


The ABSW Awards are a celebration of STEM journalism in Britain and Ireland, and are much appreciated by journalists as they are always judged and/or nominated by their peers. The ABSW is delighted that this ethos can now be extended to our science journalism colleagues throughout Europe.


Previous Winners

Eva Wolfangel wins European Science Writer of the Year 2018

Left to Right: Yves Sciama, organizer ECSJ2018; Seema Kumar, J&J Innovation; Nathaniel Herzberg, finalist; Eva Wolfangel, winner; Martin Enserink, finalist; Vera Novai, Lea Udovč and
Julianna Photopoulos, nominees - European Science Writer of the Year 2018
Winner of European Science Writer of the Year 2017, Hester van Santen features in showcase of award winning science writers produced for the World Conference of Science Journalists 2017



EurekAlert! is the ABSW's lead professional development partner and supports all ABSW professional development and training events.