Summer School


The next European Conference of Science Journalism (ECSJ) will take place in Trieste, Italy, 3-4 July 2020 as a satellite event of ESOF2020 – EuroScience Open Forum.

You can now register your interest for free at their website: to stay up-to-date on conference news and updates.

Previous ECSJs took place in Copenhagen (2014), Budapest (2015), Manchester (2016), Copenhagen (2017), and Toulouse (2018).

ABSW board member, Dr. Sunny Bains, tech journalist, editor, and educator, currently at UCL, has been elected to the board of the World Federation of Science Journalists.

The 30 voting delegates of national science journalism associations from around the world elected three new members to the board.

The other two elected board members – out of six candidates running in the election – are Andrada Fiscutean from Romania, and M. Harry Surjadi from Indonesia. “All six candidates have an impressive background, are enthusiastic and are already engaged on behalf of our community,” the WFSJ said.

Congratulations Sunny!

WCSJ2019, Lausanne (Switzerland) – Science journalists and all those who care for the quality and independence of the media coverage of topics related to science, health, environment and innovation have now a new “one-stop shop”, thanks to the launch of the new European Federation for Science Journalism, EFSJ (

The new Federation held its first official meeting in Lausanne, during the very successful 11th World Conference of Science Journalists, WCSJ2019, which was jointly organized by three of the seven EFSJ founding members: SASJ (from Switzerland), AJSPI (France) and SWIM (Italy).

WCSJ2019 ( attracted more than 1250 registered delegates from 83 countries.

The presidents of all the seven founding associations – from France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Russian Federation, Switzerland and the UK – met during a lively general assembly open to all conference delegates, to elect the first governing board and to agree on the first steps for the new federation.

ABSW member Mike Harrison writes:
A body championing the hopes of writers and other creative workers for fairer contract terms has come of age. The CRA, with which the ABSW has a long-standing connection, will re-launch in September as a lobbying organisation: Creators’ Rights Alliance Ltd.

The ABSW has been a CRA supporter for 17 years. The latter began as an informal collaboration between bodies representing and supporting creative workers. Recent uncertainties about the future of UK legislation arising from Brexit suggest that a more robust campaigning stance is now needed. Hence the move to a company limited by guarantee which will be able to find and exploit funds from outside sources.

Two ABSW board members, Anita Makri and Mico Tatalovic, both freelance science journalists, have been elected to the board of the new European Federation for Science Journalism (EFSJ).

EFSJ is a non-profit organisation that aims to promote independent, high-quality science journalism across Europe.

The presidents of all the seven EFSJ founding associations – from France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Russian Federation, Switzerland and the UK – met during a lively general assembly to elect the first governing board and to agree on the first steps for the new federation. The meeting took place at the WCSJ19 in Lausanne, Switzerland, on 4 July 2019, and it was open to all conference delegates.

Krijn Soeteman (VWN, The Netherlands) was elected president, and Olga Dobrovidova (AKSON, Russian Federation) was elected vice-president.

The ABSW has partnered up with CIJ for the second year running, to bring the science beat closer to investigative reporters.

We are organizing three sessions on science reporting at the CIJ’s Investigative Journalism Summer Conference: Where new tools meet traditional craft on 4-6 July 2019 in London, UK.

ABSW also has five travel grants for its members to attend the conference, and all ABSW members get 20% discount on registration.

The science sessions this year are the following:

Photo: Henry Kenyon Photography

The winners of European Science Journalist of the Year 2019 were announced at an evening reception at the World Conference of Science Journalists, in Lausanne, tonight (Tuesday July 2, 2019).   

The international judging panel had already shortlisted five people from five countries out of the 25 entries from journalists and journalism associations from around Europe.

Announcing the results Seema Kumar, Vice President of Innovation, Global Health and Policy Communication at Johnson & Johnson - the sponsors of the award  - said: Due to the high quality of entries and the diverse range of mediums the judges decided to award the prize to more than one winner this year – recognising excellence in different media formats.

The winners are…

At a ceremony held at the Science Museum’s new Illuminate event space last night (Tuesday 28 May), the winners of this year’s Association of British Science Writers’ Awards for Britain and Ireland were announced.

Gaia Vince, freelance science and environment journalist, and an award-winning broadcaster and author hosted the event. The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Sir Philip Campbell Editor-in Chief of the publishing company Springer Nature and former Editor-in-Chief of Nature.   Pallab Ghosh, Science Correspondent BBC News, reflected on Sir Philip’s outstanding and influential career before announcing he had won the award.  

ABSW Calendar

November 2019
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30



EurekAlert! is the ABSW's lead professional development partner and supports all ABSW professional development and training events.