Summer School

Photo: Henry Kenyon Photography

The winners of European Science Journalist of the Year 2019 were announced at an evening reception at the World Conference of Science Journalists, in Lausanne, tonight (Tuesday July 2, 2019).   

The international judging panel had already shortlisted five people from five countries out of the 25 entries from journalists and journalism associations from around Europe.

Announcing the results Seema Kumar, Vice President of Innovation, Global Health and Policy Communication at Johnson & Johnson - the sponsors of the award  - said: Due to the high quality of entries and the diverse range of mediums the judges decided to award the prize to more than one winner this year – recognising excellence in different media formats.

The winners are…

In print and online category, the joint winners are:

Alison Abbott & Katia Moskvitch

Of Alison’s work, the judges said: We enjoyed her engaging prose and importance of her subjects and also we wanted to congratulate Alison on her long - 27 year - successful career.

Of Katia, the judges said: We selected Katia for her engaging prose and the importance of the subjects she fearlessly tackled.

In TV and Video category the winner is:

Renata Dacinger

The judges said: We all particularly appreciated Renata's presence, her creative flair and eye for detail, as well as the fact that she wore multiple hats in the production of her work.

In Radio and Podcast category the winner is:

Lydia Ben Ytzhak

The judges said: We especially appreciated the original perspective provided by the audio format, that Lydia masters beautifully.

In Multimedia and New Formats the winner is:

Javier Sauras

Javier could not be at the awards ceremony as he is on a reporting trip. Of his work, the judges said: He built a fantastic gamification of an important subject – the gender divide in technology. The piece is innovative, imaginative and uniquely engaging. It unveils the human side of science, showing how personal and professional issues overlap when women decide to undertake a career in a male dominated field.

Further detail on the winners and their award winning work

Alison Abbott, Senior European Correspondent, Nature, based in Germany

Three articles published in Nature were submitted for judging:

In the Palestinian territories, science struggles against all odds

100 bats and a long, dark tunnel: one neuroscientist’s quest to unlock the secrets of 3D navigation

Discovery of Galileo’s long-lost letter shows he edited his heretical ideas to fool the Inquisition        

Renata Dacinger, Editor, Script Writer, and Presenter at the public TV station RTV Slovenija – nominated by the Balkan Network of Science Journalists (Slovenija)

Three TV programmes were submitted for judging and can be viewed online:

Programme one

Programme two

Programme three

Katia Moskvitch, Space editor, WIRED UK, CondeNast – nominated by the Association of British Science Writers (UK). British Science Journalist of the Year 2019

Three articles published in Wired and Quanta Magazine were submitted for judging:

Iceland advert banned Christmas

Dark matter worth searching for null results

Troubled times for alternatives to Einstein’s theory of gravity     

Javier Sauras, Freelance (Spain)

Javier’s submitted work can be found online:

Lydia Ben Ytzhak, freelance columnist for "Continent sciences" (France Culture) – nominated by l'Association des journalistes scientifiques de la presse d'information AJSPI (France)

Three podcasts were submitted for judging:     

The award is sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Innovation and co-ordinated by the Association of British Science Writers. Entries for this award can be made by journalists from any European country, journalists may also be nominated for the award by their country’s national journalism association.   Entries can be made in any medium and any language.

The judges in 2019 were:

Lou del Bello, European Representative on the Executive Board of the Association of British Science Writers, freelance writer and producer (Chair of the judges)

Declan Butler, Senior reporter, Nature (France)

Ljubica Urošević, Freelance journalist, RTV Vojvodina, Program editor Tv show “Pres i ja “ (“Press and me”) (Serbia)

Eva Wolfangel, winner European Science Writer of the Year 2018, Science journalist (Germany)

For further details contact Sallie Robins This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.